my top secret smoothie tip

I haven’t been called a master of many things. But I have been named a master of two things.

1. Grilled cheeses
2. Smoothies
–> by my younger brother, a valid source for these sorts of things :)

Anyway, whether or not I’m truly a master, I have a fool proof recipe for smoothies. This method returns the PERFECT consistency for my smoothie.

DSC06175_Snapseed

Frozen bananas! Ok, maybe it’s not that cool. Maybe you already know this. But have you been called the Smoothie Master?

I discovered this trick after my sister requested a smoothie that had the consistency of Jamba Juice’s smoothies. Before, I had always used normal bananas and berries, but they always turned out too liquid-y. Even when I used frozen berries or frozen yogurt, still didn’t do the trick. Then I stumbled upon frozen bananas. Works like a charm.

That’s what I’m talking about. Obsessed with my Magic Bullet.

DSC06184_Snapseed

DSC06188_Snapseed

DSC06191_Snapseed

Perfect Banana-Berry Smoothie

1 banana – peeled, broken into pieces + frozen for at least 3 hours
1 cup frozen berries
1/2 cup orange juice + more as needed to blend
optional: yogurt, spinach (it’s tasty!), protein powder

Combine all ingredients and blend until bananas and berries are blended smooth. Add more orange juice as needed. Top with granola, cereal, more fruit. Go wild!

DSC06193_Snapseed
Blend. Consume. Repeat.

Lauren

Does this tickle your tastebuds? Leave a Reply!

