thanksgiving leftovers + stuffed cinnamon sweet omelet

So my main contribution to Thanksgiving dinner was a little experiment. <– I'm into those these days. We had Thanksgiving dinner with our family friends and our task was to bring a yam/sweet potato dish. My mom was debating a bunch of different recipes and consulting me for advice. Somewhere along the way we got all mixed up at to which recipe we were going to be using and ended up with canned sweet potatoes + raw sweet potatoes, whole apples, walnuts + pecans, and a lot of brandy. Since we had more than enough ingredients we went with TWO recipes. My mom did a mashed sweet potato with marshmallow and pecan/walnut topping from Melinda Lee and decided to wing it. I know that’s totally not what you’re supposed to do if you’re bringing a dish to share with people other than your family or significant other who won’t judge you if it’s a failure BUT I’ve never been one who enjoys following those traditional rules. Throw something together and see what happens?! Yup.

I envisioned a casserole dish, so I decided to do a sort twist on baked apples and did an apple + sweet potato casserole with a pecan and walnut crumble.

Apple Sweet Potato + Pecan-Walnut Crumble Casserole
This recipe was inspired by Melinda Lee’s Praline Yam recipe. Tastes very similar to baked apples, with the addition of sweet potatoes. And don’t worry, it was definitely a Thanksgiving hit!

For casserole
5 medium sized sweet potatoes (about 1 lb) – peeled and sliced into 1/4 inch thick slices
4 large apples – sliced into 1/4 inch slices
2 t cinnamon
1 t ground ginger
4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) butter – melted
1/3 cup, light or golden brown sugar – packed
5 tablespoons, brandy

For crumble:
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
2/3 cup, light or golden brown sugar
1/4 pound (1 stick) butter – melted
1 t cinnamon

Butter a 9×13 inch baking dish. Layer your sweet potato and apple slices any way you like so that pan is filled just to the top. Combine your melted butter, brown sugar, brandy, cinnamon and ginger and pour over the apples and sweet potatoes. Combine ingredients for pecan-walnut crumble and layer over top of the casserole. Bake at 350*F for 30-45 min until sweet potatoes are tender.

Note: The dish comes out slightly liquidy – I would recommend using slightly less butter + brandy if you’re not feeling all that goodness. Although I bet if you poured the excess liquid over pancakes you might feel like you’d died and gone to post-Thanksgiving-sugar-overload heaven. Not a bad place to be in my opinion.

So that was that. And then there were leftovers. I honestly like Thanksgiving leftovers better than the dinner. Is anyone else with me on this or am I just weird?

BUT I woke up today not really feeling like leftovers. Instead, I wanted French Toast. The only problem with that ideas was that I really really don’t like French Toast unless it’s made with slightly sweet, super light and fluffy bread. Something like brioche or Hawaiian bread – a.k.a. the kind you probably don’t regularly stock in your kitchen. And I felt like I carbo-loaded to the extreme yesterday. So I went with this fun little recipe.

Stuffed Cinnamon Sweet Omelet
I used Ashley’s @ Edible Perspective recipe for the omelet. It taste just like French Toast and has the texture of a sweet crepe. You wouldn’t believe it’s made from just eggs, vanilla, milk, and cinnamon.

2 eggs
2T milk – any kind with some fat, I used whole
small pinch of salt
1 t vanilla
1/2 t cinnamon
any fruit you have on hand or leftover Apple Sweet Potato + Pecan-Walnut Crumble Casserole

Heat a pan on medium-low. Whisk eggs, milk, salt, vanilla, and cinnamon. When 1 T butter melts and bubbles on pan add your egg mixture. Don’t touch egg mixture but wait for it to set. Once egg has set, scoot it onto a plate. Add your desired sweet stuffing and consume!

Instead of stuffing a turkey, I’m stuffing omelets.

This is seriously the best.thing.ever.

Happy long weekend + Thanksgiving leftover consuming!

Lauren

Does this tickle your tastebuds? Leave a Reply!

