pre-holiday panic + julia child’s boeuf bourguignon

Everyone take a deep breath. I know. Halloween is on Wednesday. The holiday season is upon us. Brace yourself, as I am, with this totally forgiving, no-need-to wrap in an extravagant bow or served with seven utentsils, pot of warm, blissful, boeuf bourguignon. And is there anyone more comforting than Julia Child?

Julia Child’s Boeuf Bourguingnon
I swear this recipe isn’t scary. I made mine in a crock pot instead of a dutch oven. Serves 4-5

1.5 pounds beef stew meat
1 T olive oil
1 clove garlic
1-2 cups red wine (I used a Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon)
1 cup beef stock
1 bay leaf
1 t fresh thyme
salt and pepper
1 cup flour/cup of sauce
1 T butter/cup of sauce

3 cups mushrooms
1 T oil
1 T butter

5 medium sized potatoes – boiled

I would explain the recipe, but Julia is far more entertaining than I.

I failed to keep the meat tender. Must have been the cut of meat I used. And I opted out on the onions. But Julia does a fantastic job explaining the recipe procedure and why/how you do things certain ways, including why you should always pat your meat dry before frying, and how to properly wash mushrooms. It’s absolutely fascinating, and she’s just adorable. Particularly around 9:15 and 25:00 min. Eerrg.

One thing I’ll extrapolate on is the importance of proper heat when frying or sauteing. It is really important to heat the pan first and then to add the oil about a minute before adding your meat or vegetables. High heat will damage the oil if left in a hot pan for too long. At the same time, hot oil is essential for browning the outside of meat or a vegetable. Meat and vegetables should also be cut into the proper size so that they cook to the desired amount in about 2-3 minutes once in the pan.
Source

Can I just hide in a pot of this until the holidays are over?

Lauren

One response

  1. Pingback: mt

Does this tickle your tastebuds? Leave a Reply!

