beer before noon + phone camera blogging

When I first started this blog, I had hoped to be photographing solely with my camera phone (I had yet to purchase the phone, but it was the plan). I figured my old Sony and Cannon digital cameras would produce just as meager of a shot as a camera phone, and since my photography skills are limited to the single year I spent on journalism staff in 8th grade, I figured it would do. And heck, an entire blog done with a camera phone would be cool. At least if the pictures turned out.

As I procrastinated on buying my phone, my digital camera filled in the gaps and I learned (or so I think) some food photography skills…
1. Natural lighting is key
2. Hard lighting is not kosher I have found that the best time of day to take pictures of my food is between 8 am – 11 am, depending on the weather. A soft sunlit room is what you want for optimal food lighting.
3. Angle is everything I think some people like the overhead shot best; I prefer the straight ahead and a little above angle <–notice the extremely technical language
4. Props are awesome + add depth
5. Don’t forget the background Never mind when my kitchen outlets appeared in the backgrounds of my photos. I now have one table in the house I designate for photographing my food. Plain wall in the background + lighting works well. It could be better, but it will do.

Then, THEN I got my camera. Samsung Galaxy S3. Life changing this whole smart phone, Android world. The camera is awesome. Steady, great resolution. My current situation is finding a good app to edit the photos with.

Apps I’ve tried:
PicsArt: It was OK. The features were mostly silly. Like the “let’s change your photo to look like an oil painting” one. Maybe fun for more Instagraming, but not for a blog.

Photo Editor: This one was over my head. There were just too many features I had never seen and like I said, my photography skills are next to none, so I wanted something that I could understand. Also, I never figured out how to upload my photos easily with this app. It wanted me to save the files on my phone SIM first, then upload to a cloud network, then I have to transfer to WordPress. Oje.

I really want to try Snapseed: It looks awesome, and I’ve heard good things. Unfortunately not available for Android yet. It’s also costs $$.

Any one have better advice?

And now about my morning drinking? It’s not what you’re thinking.

Beer Oatmeal
A spin off a Danish recipe called Øllebrød. Feel free to experiment with your favorite brews. We had Shocktop handy, and paired with orange marmelade, MMM! I like it topped with milk, the creaminess balances the tang of the beer. Also, make a big batch and save the rest for the next day. The flavors enhance overnight.
1 cup steal cut oats
2 cups beer of your choice
1 cup water
cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, ginger (optional)

Bring oatmeal, beer, and water to a boil on the stove. Cook until oats are tender (~20 min). Top with milk, jam, honey, whatever taste good.

Just for fun, all the pics in this post were taken with my camera phone, although I did no editing.

Viking breakfast. All of the beer was consumed in the oatmeal, promise.

Starting the day off right.

Lauren

Does this tickle your tastebuds? Leave a Reply!

