homemade naan bread + the only way i’ll eat eggplant

My pizza stone in coming in handy for more than just pizza.

I made homemade naan bread! I was also seeing how well my camera takes pictures. Takes great pictures but is not so great for editing them, hence my lovely reflection in the oven.

Traditionally naan bread is made in a tandoori oven, but since I don’t have one of those I went with my far less exciting conventional oven.

I followed this recipe. I made a few adjustments – I added the sugar to the yeast and water mixture. I always have a terrible time getting yeast to activate, it always wants to be just the right temperature. Lucky for me yeast eats sugar, so I always throw some in when I’m making yeast bread. My little trick for getting my yeast to activate. :) I also added about 1/2 cup of flour as my dough was much too sticky. One last tip, flour your naans before you put them on the pizza stone to prevent them from sticking to the stone.

Then I made a mini far-east feast.

Lentils + this deliciouseggplantdish.

Baingan ka Shahi Bhartha
I normally hate eggplant. It smells gross it looks weird it’s purple. But this changed my mind. A semi-traditional recipe with a few additions. Serves 5.

1 eggplant (about 1 pound)
1/2 onion – diced
1/2 head garlic
1 cup diced canned tomatoes
2 T vegetable oil
1 t ground cumin
1 t ground tumeric
1/2 t cayenne pepper, or to taste
salt and pepper
3 T low-fat, plain yogurt

Pre-heat oven to 350*F. Line a dish with aluminum foil and place eggplant and head of garlic in dish. Roast for 1 hour turning eggplant over after 30 min. Let cool and then peel skin off eggplant and garlic and discard. Mash the eggplant and garlic slightly so it blends easier. Over medium heat, saute onions in a medium sized pan. Add spices and let toast for about 2 mins. Add tomatoes, eggplant, roasted garlic and continue cooking for 15 min, stirring often, until eggplant and garlic are incorporated and most of the water boils off. Stir in yogurt and enjoy with chopped cilantro and copious amounts of naan bread.


Roasted.

I could eat this naan-stop.

Happy Friday!

Lauren

One response

Does this tickle your tastebuds? Leave a Reply!

