fiskekakor smörgås (fishcake sandwich) + scandinavian memories

I guess I’ve been feeling a little nostalgic lately. Also, I’m feeling terrible for not posting a Kanelbullar recipe for Kanelbullar Dag. It was October 4th. And I missed it. :( If you’re totally lost, I’m talking about my love/pseudo-obsession with Sweden.

Who I am today has been greatly influenced by my study abroad experience. I spent 6 months abroad in Lund, Sweden during my junior year in college. It was the most wonderful, depressing, exhilarating, lonely, inspiring, and challenging experiences I’ve ever had. It’s impossible to explain. It’s a place one must truly experience firsthand to be able to understand. I can’t say that any one experience in my life has more greatly challenged and changed me, for the better. The friends I made abroad are few, but they are some of the best friends I have ever made. Scandinavia is a wonderful place. And I want more than anything to go back.

But for now, I will return to Scandinavian in recipe. One of the predominant foods in Scandinavia is fish, specifically of the herring and cod family. Pickled herring for breakfast, lunch and dinner tack (please). I never quite got used to that. I did enjoy the fiskekakor, however. This is actually a Norwegian recipe. The Swedish one would probably be more like fiskebullar (canned fish, literally translated it means fish balls). It’s delicious alone or atop an open-faced sandwich (smörgås).


Fish “church” in Göteborg.

Fiskekakor Smörgås
Makes about 4-5 fish cakes.
1 pound Wild Alaskan cod (or other white fish of the cod family)
1/2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1 egg white
1 1/2 – 2 T corn starch
1/2 ice-cold milk, more if needed
1 T chives – finely chopped (optional)
1-2 tbsp canola oil for frying

Rish and pat dry fish fillets with a paper towel. Slice into large chunks and place in food processor/blender. Chop chunks until almost a mush if formed. Add some of the milk if necessary to get fish to chop. Stir in salt, pepper, nutmeg, egg white, and corn starch. Slowly add milk until mixture forms a moist paste. It shouldn’t be runny, but if it is you can always drain excess liquid off. Stir in chives. Heat oil in a large pan on medium heat. With your hands, form fish cakes from slightly flattened balls. Fry cakes for about 4 min on each side, until golden brown. Serve on toasted sourdough with a slice of lemon, lettuce and tomato.


With a side of ‘potatoes’ of course. I got lazy.

Jag saknar Sverige. One of these days, I’ll be back.

Lauren

One response

Does this tickle your tastebuds? Leave a Reply!

