Happy Labor Day Weekend! + the best thing I ever made

Happy Labor Day weekend! What am I celebrating this weekend besides our workers? Oh wait, myself because . . . I GOT A JOB!!! I’m trilled to announce that I accepted a job offer this week to work as a Nutrition Assistant in a hospital. Ahhhhh so exciting! And after applying to hundreds of jobs over the past few months and getting nowhere, this couldn’t be more perfect. I will be learning exactly what it takes to be an RD, a perfect way to start learning all about the career I am working towards.

So, are you ready for the weekend? Here’s your Labor Day checklist:

1. Good friends + family – I’ll be in San Diego with my best friend :)
2. Bathing suits + a blazing bonfire
3. Good time beverages
4. and this recipe

Salmon Burgers (aka the best damn thing I’ve ever made)
makes about 6 medium size patties
1 1/4 lbs salmon (skinned, deboned, and finely chopped by hand)
3/4 onion, finely chopped
1 1/4 cup panko (add more if mix is too wet)
2 T fresh dill, chopped
2 T spicy mustard
1 T olive oil
salt + pepper to taste
6 large, rather sturdy hamburger buns (brioche works wonderfully)

Chop salmon with a butcher knife so it is fairly finely chopped. Combine chopped salmon, onion, panko, dill, mustard, oil, and salt + pepper so it is just mixed. Form about 6 medium sized patties. In a skillet/pan on LOW heat, cook salmon patties covered with a lid to trap heat. Patties should cook for about 5-8 min first side. and then be flipped and cooked for 3-6 min on the second side. I imagine you could grill these also, heat + time would have to be slightly adjusted depending on your grill.


Master salmon chopper.


I have the best sous chef :)


Serve with sliced avocado, slice of tomato, a lettuce.

What a week. What a summer. Now to a weekend if celebrating. Have a great holiday!

Lauren

4 responses

  1. I’m so so happy for you lauren!! Enjoy this weekend and smile lots and lots because you’re amazing. remember how we said everything falls into place??

Does this tickle your tastebuds? Leave a Reply!

