new routines + my routine whipped banana oatmeal

Any one else have the first day of school jitters? I know I’ve got them. New school, new friends, new classes (chemistry! pray for me.) Overall, I’m looking forward to a fresh start. I’m finally starting the pre-requisite courses for my MS in Nutrition + RD certification. So yes, I’ll be taking chemistry. I cannot honestly say whether I’m overjoyed to finally have a career path or on the verge of a mental breakdown. I have a feeling all that paper writing for my Communications degree is not going to be so helpful here.

So, to ward off the new-ness butterflies in my stomach, a routine breakfast. Definitely my favorite oatmeal recipe. Thanks KERF for introducing me!

My Routine Oatmeal
1/2 cup oats (I like rolled or Coach’s Oats)
1/2 banana (sliced)
1 cup + 1 T water (or sometime I used 1/2 milk + 1/2 water)
optional toppings/mix ins: vanilla, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, granola, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, banana, peanut butter, chia or flax seeds, anything you can think of!

Combine oats and water on stove top and cook according to instructions. About half-way through cooking process, add banana. Let banana cook for ~1 min. Then, using a spatula or wooden spoon start whipping the oatmeal, breaking down the banana. Continue until oatmeal is done. Add toppings to your stomach’s desire.


Nicely whipped. You can barely see banana slices. The banana breaks down nicely + adds a nice whipped texture and sweetness.

And I’m off to class!

Lauren

Does this tickle your tastebuds? Leave a Reply!

