summer reading

I’m in San Diego for a few days this week, vacationing. As I’m enjoying the weather and the relaxation, I’m also getting through some of my summer reading. So I thought I’d do a little book review of my latest summer read, as it is food related.

Title: A Economist Gets Lunch: New Rules for Everyday Foodies by Tyler Cowen

Possibly one of the most insightful foodie books I’ve read yet. If you liked Omnivore’s Dilemma (or rather if OD left you feeling depressed and disheartened about the American food system), you will really enjoy this book. It is pretty much what it sounds like, an economic view of global food systems. But it is a lot more than that.

It covers such topics as – what actually is American cuisine, the history of barbeque, why Mexican food tastes better in Mexico, how to eat your way to a green world, and my personal favorite, where to find the best food anywhere. Hint: economic supply and demand. It has a real historical and global perspective, something many foodie novels lack, while also being lighthearted and fun. In my opinion, a quote from the back cover really sums up this book well. It states, ” . . . Most of all, it’s encouraging-not a screed, despite its occasionally serious arguments-and brings the fun back to eating. Delicious!” – Stephen J. Dubner, coauthor of Freakonomics and SuperFreakonomics

But if I can tell you anything, this book radically changed my views about a number of highly controversial topics. Namely, after reading this book I am pro-GMOs (genetically modified organisms), against consuming locally grown food and for that matter organic, may switch to using entirely to paper plates and plastic forks, and I’m not gonna sweat it if I forget my reusable bags when I go grocery shopping. And I’ll do all this in the name of a greener planet, and a healthier, well-nourished population. Has she totally lost her mind?! Guess you’ll have to read to find out!

Does this tickle your tastebuds? Leave a Reply!

